The Girl Who Leaves A poem by Oluwadarasimi

I used to have my heart on my sleeve

Putting efforts whatsoever into any relationship

Or even an almost-relationship

Believing, hoping, holding to faith

That things amazing were going to be made

I gave attention, to everyone virtually

I was so trashy, you only needed to say a few sweet words

I respected, loved, gave, cherished, admired, helped

Guess I was too busy with that

To notice my heart was bleeding

From heartbreaks and pains

So I became the girl who leaves,

I turned arrogant, unfriendly, cold

So I became the girl who leaves

Well, before I was left again

I could only care less

Of the hearts I left behind

I became the girl who leaves.

So I built walls of loneliness around myself

Gates and doors of sorrows, fear, coldness and dryness

All around me

Tears, insecurity, pain became my companions

I forgot that meeting my Prince Charming

Ends as fast as the movie itself

So I locked my heart

And threw the key far away, into the deepest river

Because I was so sure that  everyone who comes into my life

Will eventually leave

So I became the girl who leaves

However,

Rooted deep down in my mind

Body, soul and spirit

Lies a small tingly hope

That someday

I’ll meet my someone

Who’ll make me stay against all odds

And I in turn make him stay too

And I’ll stop being the girl who leaves

I’ll become

The Girl Who Stays.

3 Replies to “The Girl Who Leaves A poem by Oluwadarasimi”

Leave a Reply

